Assignment One


THE BRIEF: Make a series of six to twelve photographs in response to the concept of ‘The Square Mile’. Use this as an opportunity to take a fresh and experimental look at your surroundings. You may wish to re-trace places you know very well, examining how they might have changed; or, particularly if you’re in a new environment, you may wish to use photography to explore your new surroundings and meet some of the people around you.


For my first assignment and as a way to both introduce myself and fit with the brief, I have included photos I have taken from various places, that I hope can fit in within a single theme being nature.

Familiarity for me isn’t based on places that I know well or places that I can navigate with ease, but rather places that I feel comfortable and at peace within. For me, these are mostly places that I have visited throughout my life and most commonly places that are within nature itself. Most of the photography that I do is of nature and wildlife, but I am aware that I lack in the cases of landscapes, architecture and general life photos. These are areas that I hope to learn more about and become more comfortable taking photos of these places. 

I spend a lot of my time in nature areas, whether it be canal routes, reservoirs or in the woods. Nature is a comforting element for me and something that I feel I take better photos of. I prefer to work in macro despite not having any macro lenses but it is something that for me, I feel always gives more depth to photos.


(Photos taken with Sony Alpha A5000 and Canon Powershot SX730 HS)

6 Comments Add yours

  1. graham516943 says:

    Welcome on board. Like you I have just started. I’ve submitted Ass 1 and had feedback from my tutor. This was an interesting way to interpret the brief supported by a goo variety of images. I do think that possibly the images of the butterfly and the squire are at odds with the others.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you and welcome to you too! Thank you for your feedback. My goal with the ones of the squirrel and butterfly were hinting towards the likes of nature as how the others include their homes and other aspects of nature!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. davelettyoca says:

    Well done, using feelings as opposed to physical boundaries is an interesting concept and not one I have seen used before.

    Like

    1. Thank you for your comment! I’m glad that I was able to show a different side of the brief.

      Like

  3. Mete says:

    Hello Danielle. Nice series. I like the 2nd photo the most.

    Like

    1. Thank you ever so much!

      Like

Leave a comment