Exercise 1.2 – Point


THE BRIEF: Take three or four photographs in which a single point is placed in different parts of the frame. When composing the shots use these three rules: the place of the point shouldn’t be too obvious (such as right in the middle), the composition should hold a tension and be balanced (the golden section or rule of thirds) and the point should be easy to see. Evaluate the shots according to these rules and select which one you think works best. Then take a few more shots without any rules, just being aware of the relationship of the point to the frame. Without the rules, how can you evaluate the shots?


This lone tree in the middle of a field near me has been something I’ve wanted to photograph for many years now during all seasons. Annoyingly for me, the view that I have always wanted to capture is directly on the corner of a road and any chance I have had to go here, the road has been far too busy for me to safely take a photo. However a small garden centre/visitors centre near me has a very clear view of it from atop a hill.

In my own opinion, I believe the first image works the best in portraying the rules but also when not portraying any rules. You can tell that the focus point is the lone tree, however there being no other obstructions around the tree and the clear colours frame it so it is seen as the main focus point.


(Photos taken with Canon Powershot SX730 HS)

Leave a comment